This is what i am talking about!

Sometime back I told my friends; Marriage is about – two willing people coming together with all they have; for a life time walk to serve God, to serve each other and the community around them.

Life is a game and marriage is a part of it. You are partnering with a willing person and together you help each other to play the game. Marriage is about the partnership between both the partners, it is about team play! When I say team play what reminds me is 1 Samuel 14:1-7 Jonathan and the armor barer. What a team work it is! When one partner leads the life’s battles other partner saying like  – “Do all that you have in mind,” his armor-bearer said. “Go ahead; I am with you heart and soul”. (1 Sam 14:7)

It is funny, knowing both the partners are different – still they come together for one goal, which I have highlighted above. (a life time walk to serve God, to serve each other and the community around them)

The phase of preparation for my marriage has changed my view and my relationship with God in another level. I am happy for it and let me share it with you.

So the story goes like this; one fine day, I was praying to God as usual – God I needed a willing woman, who is ready and who is willing to walk a life time walk with me. This is my desire and prayer! When I said these words, immediately the words of Andy Stanley rang in my heart. He said, “Are you the person you’re looking for is looking for?” what he meant is, we should become the person that the person we’re looking for is looking for.

The whole thing led me to these thoughts like; I committed my life to Christ 11 years ago. After looking back, I’ve realized my walk with God is going to be the shadow of my walk with my wife. Therefore if I neglect my walk with God; eventually it will show it up in my marriage life. So I started taking so serious about my relationship with God.

On the flip side, God spoken to me what is marriage about through this word from Proverbs. It is – Where there are no oxen, the manger is empty, but from the strength of an ox come abundant harvests. Prov.14:4 NIV

The Lord has revealed me that my marriage is the field owned by this farmer (God himself); my partner and myself are the oxen in this field; working for God. And he said clearly – from the strength of an ox come abundant harvests!!

We all know, we can’t tie nether an ox and a donkey nor a strong ox with a weak ox. I am leaving this thought with you here.

There are so many strong voices out there in the world proclaiming that this marriage won’t work but it is you and I have to make decision to listen to those strong voices or the gentle voice of the Lord – as He says in His word.

Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with that person, and they with me. Revelation 3:10

I will be updating more on this as and when the Lord inspires to me add to this section. Have fun! God loves you. Have confidence in God – he sees marriage as a good thing.

Further Resources:-

11.10.2016

Today, I read David Willi’s  article on 7 “Weired” habits of happy couples  I have linked the article; it may increase your understanding on why you need be more wired – to make a God envisioned marriage.

Leave a Reply

